List all the things that “trees in the window” could mean. NOW.

I usually hear weird things being spoken over the PA at Nordstrom.  Random phrases that i cannot make out but know for sure are weird.  Most recently, the all-too-familiar female voice came on and said, “Trees in the window.”  Just like that.  Out of nowhere.  Not just a matter-of-fact “trees-in-the-window, please move them because they are blocking my view and if they are blocking my view i really wouldn’t have anything to do in this tiny office cos i wouldn’t be able to stare out the window,” but an annoyingly sing-song “TREES in the WINdow.”

Three minutes later, she did it again.  No one around me reacted.  I shook my mom and demanded why that lady kept saying that, but she just laughed it off and forgot about it, while it consumed me, eating away at my brain.  I even looked around, looking for a window that’s got trees in front of it but didn’t see any.  I don’t think any of the shoppers even realized what the mystery lady said.

This occurred on Monday afternoon, but it is still bothering me, so i have just emailed Nordstrom customer service about it.  Hopefully i will get a reply, and if i do, i will update this post.

*UPDATE*

This is the reply i got from the store manager:

Dear <REDACTED>,

Thank you for shopping in our store and for taking the time to pass on your observations.  I can understand how strange that must have sounded to you and I’m glad that I can clear it up.  In order to keep our in-store paging to a minimum we simply say the person’s name over the PA system.  In this case, we have a Department Manager named “Trizah Mwenda” who was being paged.  On days when I am not in the store we designate a Department Manager to be in charge of the store and I would bet that you were here on a day when Trizah was in charge and receiving numerous pages.  I’m so glad that you chose to shop with us and I hope that we will have an opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

<REDACTED>

2 Comments

Filed under language, perception

2 responses to “List all the things that “trees in the window” could mean. NOW.

  1. Jill

    I know this blog is old but I’m hoping you will see my reply. I TOTALLY hear that at Nordstrom all of the time. It eats away at me too! And their answer cannot be true. I live in NJ and have heard it at multiple Nordstrom stores. Does this person work everywhere?!

Leave a Reply

