2009: My year in music

2009 was a long year.  I guess a lot happened, a lot of it tiring, but at the same time, none of it was very interesting.  I’d say this was the year of insecurities for me.  There were several moments when my pride and my insecurity were at odds, which is something i’ve never dealt with before.  It caused problems here and there, but no permanent damage was done, i don’t think.  I’m just glad i didn’t let my pride get in the way of reconnecting with a special friend, which was one of my few proud accomplishments this year.  This was also the last full year of school for me, which had me agonizing over my impending graduation and the full time job search.  I still don’t know what i’m going to be doing after i graduate.  All i know is that it’ll be weird not being in school come next September.

Anyways, i would like to wish you all a happy new year.  Stay healthy and never stop dreaming.

2009: My year in music

Pre. Backwords – “Factory Angels”
Jan. Rickie Lee Jones – “Atlas’ Marker”
Feb. Fleet Foxes – “Innocent Son” ………… <listen>
Mar. 8mm – “Forever and Ever Amen” ………… <listen>
Apr. Rickie Lee Jones – “On Saturday Afternoons in 1963” ………… <listen>
May. RENT Original Soundtrack – “Will I” ………… <listen>
Jun. Prince – “Purple Rain” ………… <listen>
Jul. 서태지 (Seotaiji)  – “Moai”
Aug. She & Him – “Black Hole” ………… <listen>
Sep. Sigur Rós – “Ný batterí” ………… <listen>
Oct. Bruno Coulais – “L’évocation” ………… <listen>
Nov. Kate Earl – “Come This Far” ………… <listen>
Dec. DJ Shadow – “Napalm Brain-Scatter Brain” ………… <listen>
Fin. Ani DiFranco – “Alla This” ………… <listen>

2008
2007

9 Comments

Filed under art

9 responses to “2009: My year in music

  1. I don’t know any of these songs, except the one for July.

  2. Well, he’s a pretty revolutionary figure in the Korean music scene. Though I must say, the man isn’t what he’s used to be.

    • n

      oh, how did he change? or do you mean his music changed? i don’t know much about him, but my brother’s always been a huge fan, so he’s been sending me the newest albums.

  3. His claim to fame, as far as I am aware, has been that he is the evangelist of “new music.” He has quite a few achievements under his belt: his first album popularized hip hop music in Korea, he was among the first to play metal on TV, and so on.

    Now, I believe his constant effort to be “hip” and “cool” and whatnot has not been working out so well, recently. With the advent of the Internet, he certainly isn’t the one who can “study” the new genres, “internalize” them, and “spread” them to the Korean masses. If there is not enough novelty added in this process, many would simply go for the American/British music, as it isn’t that difficult to buy the albums nowadays.

    With that said, he does have an uncanny ability to write catchy songs. This is perhaps why, despite his no longer valid claim-to-fame, he is still very popular. Most people do not give much attention to the historical significance of a musician, anyway.

    • n

      then i think his initial claim-to-fame is invalid, too. isn’t it most artists’ goal to innovate, especially in this day and age? what does it matter if he was particularly successful at it; success varying is a given in the music scene. i just don’t think he can say, “i’m famous because i brought something new.”

      • “Then I think his initial claim-to-fame is invalid.”

        Yes, this is the way it should be. But in a country like Korea, where the music market is rather small, there simply isn’t enough resource to nurture both cliche, sell-out music and innovative music (as opposed to here—where techno sells, and Pink Floyd also sells). So, many artists resort to using the same old formulas, just so that they can make a lot of money. So, I do think the reason he is treated as some sort of demi-god in the Korean music scene is that he did something new and he sold a lot of albums. As if, we should give him credit for having the guts to do it in public.

        It certainly is a strange phenomenon.

  4. Jingjing

    I like your music tastes lady.

    Do you like Prince? B/c he’s crazy. He wrote a new song for the Vikings b/c they are purple and gold. You should listen to it. It’s called Purple and gold. I read that he went to a Vikings game and he said that he “saw the future” and wrote a song for them. Isn’t that crazy?

    • n

      I like Prince’s voice and some of his slower songs, but i’m not a fan of the upbeat ones. I’ll check out “Purple and Gold,” though.

Leave a Reply

