Sometimes i wish the world were a little town of fifty people

.
.   .   . I like familiarity.  As much as i try to fool myself into thinking that i like the new, the unexplored, the unknown, i’m just a scaredy-cat with my own share of insecurities.

.
When i start to get familiar with something, and something else threatens to take it from me, i panic.  I don’t wanna lose the chance of disclosing it.  I don’t wanna have to surrender it to the world out there.  I don’t wanna have to start from scratch, only to lose again.

.
I know we all deal with it.  Life is just a cycle of wanting things, getting them, not wanting them anymore…wanting something else, getting it, and not wanting that anymore either.

.
And at the same time, these things you want are ever elusive and out of your control.  I don’t act on many of my desires, because i’m afraid of losing the game.

.
Desire threatens my grip on things, and i don’t ever wanna lose my grip on things.
.
.

When i find something i want to keep, i wish the world were a little town of fifty people—a safe, enclosed universe where i could keep track of the things that matter to me, never let them out of my sight.  And when i find myself wanting something else, i wish the world were bigger than it is.  I hope it’s bigger than we think it is, and that a part of it will always stay beyond our grasp.

.
But just for now, i wish it were a little bit smaller.

artist credit:  Eben Goff

1 Comment

Filed under sketches

One response to “Sometimes i wish the world were a little town of fifty people

  1. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand a lot approximately this,
    such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you just can
    do with a few p.c. to force the message house a bit, however other than that, this is
    magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

