Seoul opened up to me tonight

Tonight, i walked from Seoul Station to my hill barefoot in the pouring rain.  It was the greatest walk of my life.  For the first time since arriving here, i felt one with the city and yet comfortably alone, with only my thoughts and my music and the rain washing over my feet.  There’s something about cities:  no matter where in the world you might be, a city has this way of being welcoming and impenetrable at once, and you have to meet it head-on at its most vulnerable moments—when there are very few people on the streets masking its true qualities—to break open its shell.

That’s what i missed when i left New York.  I missed making love to the city, taking long walks in the rain and at night, ignoring everything around me but the ground below my feet and the vague pulsation of life continuing in my temporary absence.  I loved everything about New York:  the people, the food, the culture, the beat it moved to.  There’s nothing quite like the no bullshit attitude that New York breeds and takes pride in.

I hate most things about Seoul, especially the people, but as long as i can take barefoot, solitary walks in the rain, returning home to my quiet hill of friendly people, i think i’ll be okay.  Navigating the city isn’t a concern; i just need to learn how to navigate the people.

4 Comments

Filed under new york, seoul, sketches

4 responses to “Seoul opened up to me tonight

  1. Strigiformes

    I’m glad you had this moment!! This is how I feel about big cities too. Taking a lonely walk, watching everything about the city, and just be one with it.

  2. Jingjing

    It was my first winter in Hoboken, after an evening of snowfall, that I gave a part of myself to NY, and vice versa. From that moment, NY took on a different smell and a different color. It’s a city I still haven’t figured out, a city that grows colder and more distant the longer I am away from it. I miss it and sometimes when I am back, I hate it. But it owns a part of me, just like my hometown in China, and Paris.

  3. I had a similar experience when living in Tokyo. It was my first time there and I still couldn’t speak Japanese, and had spent 3 or so weeks just getting my ass kicked by it. One night I missed the last train in Shibuya so I just started walking, convinced I would find my way home. Three hours later I did and I had finally claimed some of the city for myself.

Leave a Reply

