Pleasant dreams that haunt

My last dream was the only one i remember being so perfectly pleasant from beginning to end.  Everything was so convincingly real; from the main plot to the characters right down to their individual quirks, the story and its framework were a carefully lifted extension of real life, my life here, my life now.  I was fully invested in the story; i dreamt it in the first-person, and every move i made, every feeling i felt, was analogous to my character in waking life.  It was too real for me to even tell whether i was dreaming what i wished for or what truly will happen in the near future.  It was everything i wished for (and still wish for, possibly, maybe subconsciously), yet there were enough flaws in the story—pitfalls in the dream life—to convince me that the dream could be real enough to be premonitory.

It was part three of a series of dreams i’ve been dreaming on the same issue.  It’s amazing how much the story develops with each episode.  Every development is believable; there’s a clear explanation for every story arc, logical reasons for everything that the characters do.

I regularly have premonitory dreams.  This is only my second set of episodic dreams.

My dreams rarely ever make this much sense while being completely fictional.

The dreams i have the most trouble with are the ones with people i know in them.  When a dream moves and haunts me as much as this one does, i feel obligated to tell the people who were in it.  This time, i can’t bear to.  And i lost episode 2.

What if it is a premonition?  What if it’s the kind of premonition where it’s best for everyone to know about it?  But even if i did tell them, how could they possibly understand exactly what i felt, what i saw, what i knew so certainly in the dream?  It was something i could never believe in real life.

Or what if it’s the kind that doesn’t come true unless you do something about it?  Like a whisper in your ear urging you to go after what you were always too afraid to pursue?  Because you could never do that in real life?

4 Comments

Filed under korea, perception, sketches

4 responses to “Pleasant dreams that haunt

  1. Jingjing

    I keep thinking that I am going to die soon, because I keep dreaming of people killing me over and over again, every night. The first time was two years ago when I first graduated college. What I took from that dream was that I shouldn’t talk so much or be careful about what I say, because it was my mouth that got me into trouble. In the past month I’ve had two dreams and they each felt so real. I want to write a story about these series of dreams, but probably not going to.

    • n

      oh my god, j. is anything troubling you? that’s so frightening… i actually had a similar dream myself recently, except the person was actually trying to help me, not kill me. i was just paranoid. if you do ever write about these dreams, i’d love to read it.

  2. Matthew

    The most pleasant dreams haunt because the brain experiences things that could never be in real life.

Leave a Reply

